Open Source 2011

The Open Source Awards is a contest that aims to encourage, support, recognize and reward Open Source projects.

Formerly the Open Source CMS Award, the contest has been running since 2006 and is regarded as one of the most established platforms for recognizing excellence amongst Open Source Software. Prize money given out since 2006 tops $100,000.

To identify the excellence among Open Source projects, public votes for the finalists in each category were combined with ratings from a panel of Judges.

Packt Publishing has no influence, input or say in the finalists or winners of any Award category.

The 2011 Awards will feature a prize fund of $24,000 with several new categories introduced and the vote of the public becoming more influential. Packt introduced new categories for Open Source Business Applications, Open Source Multimedia Software and Open Source Mobile Toolkit and Libraries. These new categories will ensure that the Open Source Awards remain committed to providing the platform to recognise excellence within the community while supporting Open Source projects both new and old.

This year the categories are:

Read more on the Open Source Award Home Page


The Open Source Awards is split into two main stages. Firstly, nominations begin on 1st August 2011.

This will be your chance to put forward your favorite Open Source projects for each category to grow through to the final voting stage.

The finalists in the voting stage will be announced at the beginning of September; and the Voting stage begins on 19th September 2011. Voting closes on 31st October 2011, with the winners announced throughout the week commencing 7th November 2011.


August  1 | Nominations Open

September 9 | Nominations Close

September  19 | Voting Begins

October 31 | Voting Ends

November 7 | Winners Announced